Skip to main content

The Student Finance Office (SFO) administers a number of financial assistance schemes for needy primary and secondary students, including the School Textbook Assistance Scheme, the Student Travel Subsidy Scheme and the Subsidy Scheme for Internet Access Charges.  Applicants must pass the means test  (please click here for details) and meet the following eligibility criteria:  
 

Student-applicant

  • The student-applicants must be unmarried Hong Kong Residents, with right of abode, right to land or valid permission to remain without any condition of stay (other than the limit of stay) in Hong Kong. Students only holding visitor visas, two-way exit permits, student visas or who are dependents of student-visa / visitor-visa holders are not eligible to apply for student financial assistance; and
  • The schools the student-applicants are attending must belong to the category as stipulated in the financial assistance schemes below.
     

Applicant

  • Applicant must be the parent or guardian (as recognized under Guardianship of Minors Ordinance, Cap 13) of the student-applicant(s). Otherwise, applicant must explain in detail with proof why this cannot be complied with in the application form. Provided that the reason given is acceptable, the SFO will continue to process the application.
  • Generally speaking, if families currently in receipt of the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) have children studying in primary and secondary schools, they should apply direct to the Social Welfare Department (SWD) for school-related assistance for their children’s examination fees, expenses on textbook and stationery, transport fares, Internet access charges at home, etc. They do not need to submit “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” to the SFO.
     

The School Textbook Assistance (TA) Scheme

The student-applicants must be Primary 1 to Senior Secondary 3 / Secondary 6 students in government, aided, per caput grant schools and local schools under the Direct Subsidy Scheme for covering the costs of essential textbooks and miscellaneous school-related expenses.
 

The Student Travel Subsidy (STS) Scheme

The student-applicants must be receiving primary or secondary education or attending a full-time day course up to first degree level in an acceptable institution, residing beyond 10 minutes walking distance from school and traveling to school by public transport.
 

The Subsidy Scheme for Internet Access Charges (SIA)

The Subsidy Scheme for Internet Access Charges provides subsidy to needy families whose children are full-time students receiving education at primary or secondary level, or full-time students pursuing Yi Jin Diploma programmes or equivalent courses of the Vocational Training Council to meet the Internet access charges for e-learning at home for their children. The subsidy is granted on a household basis. Eligible families will receive a flat-rate cash grant, regardless of the number of children in the family.
 

Application Procedures of Financial Assistance for Primary and Secondary Students:

  • If families wish to apply for student financial assistance in 2019/20, please complete the Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes according to Guidance Notes on Household Application and return the completed application form together with all necessary supporting documents to the SFO direct by post preferably preferably on or before 31 May 2019.
  • After receiving the household application form the applicant, the SFO will assess whether the applicant’s family is eligible for financial assistance based on the information provided in the application form and assess the eligibility of the student-applicants on the basis of the eligibility criteria of individual schemes.

 

Relevant application procedures are as follows:

Form

Applicants must complete the following forms:

1) For families which have successfully applied for financial assistance in 2018/19 (on or before 1 March 2019) for (i) primary and secondary students or (ii) students at pre-primary, primary and secondary levels or (iii) pre-primary students and the child(ren) will be attending Primary 1 (P1) in the 2019/20 school year

Applicants will receive the following documents sent by the SFO by post from late-March 2019 onwards:

  • “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” (SFO106B) with pre-printed data of family members ;
  • “Guidance Notes on Household Application for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” (SFO107B(1)) and "Notes on How to Complete and Return Household Application Form”(SFO107B(2)) ;
  • Addressed envelope for submission of application [SFO182]; and
  • Supplementary forms (if applicable).

2) Applicable to those families who newly apply for financial assistance schemes for primary and secondary students or submitted EC for 2018/19 school year to the SFO on or after 2 March 2019 :   

Applicants may obtain the application documents from District Offices or schools or download the relevant application documents from the SFO’s website starting from May 2019:

  • “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” [SFO7B];
  • “Guidance notes on Household Application for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” [SFO75B(1)]and "Notes on How to Complete and Return Household Application Form” [SFO75B(2)]
  • Cover Sheet for Supporting Documents [SFO108]; and
  • Addressed envelope for submission of application [SFO182]
Documents Required

Applicants must submit the following documents:

1) Copy of identity documents:

  • Applicants using pre-printed “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” : Copy of identity documents of the dependent parents or any family member(s) whose pre-printed data has been amended or added
  • Applicants using “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes”: Copy of identity documents of the applicant and his/ her family members (including the dependent parent(s) (if applicable)) reported in the application form

2) Copy of documentary proof on income:
Documentary proof on the total family income for the assessment period from 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2019.

Method of Submission

Please put the completed application form, cover sheet for supporting documents and required documents into the addressed envelope and then send the application to the SFO by post. 

Starting from the 2019/20 school year, other than submitting the paper-based Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes and copies of relevant supporting documents by post, applicants may choose to complete and submit the electronic application form and copies of relevant supporting documents online. Please refer to SFO website for the application arrangements.

The SFO will acknowledge receipt of applications by means of SMS through applicants’ Hong Kong mobile phone numbers or in writing (applicable to applicants who are unable to provide Hong Kong mobile phone number) within 20 working days after receipt of the applications.  

Deadline for Submission
  • If applicants wish to know the results of Assessment of Eligibility in late August 2019, they should submit “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” and all necessary information on or before 31 May 2019.
  • For applicants of TA, their “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” should reach the SFO on or before 31 October 2019. Otherwise, TA will generally not be released even if they can pass the means test.
  • For eligible applicants who submit their “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” to the SFO on or after 1 November 2019, payment of STS to the student-applicants may be effected from the date of receipt of application or the date of admission of the student-applicants to school (or the date of cessation of CSSA for students previously in receipt of CSSA).
  • For applicants who submit their “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” at a date on or after 1 February 2020, partial payment of SIA may be made to the successful applicants provided that the applicant can pass the means test.
  • Under normal circumstances (except financial assistance for pre-primary students), the SFO will not accept any “Household Application Form for Student Financial Assistance Schemes” submitted on or after 1 March 2020. The SFO may give special consideration to cases with exceptional circumstances.
Notification of Result

If applicants have submitted application and all necessary information, the SFO will inform them of the application results within 3 months.  Families who have passed the means test will receive the following documents by post:

(1) Applicants who have been disbursed with TA for 2018/19 school year: the family-based “notification of result” 

(2) Applicants who have NOT been disbursed with TA for 2018/19 school year and applicants who newly apply for financial assistance for primary and secondary students: the family-based “notification of result” and the student-based ECs  

Applicants under type (2) above (i.e. applicants who have NOT been disbursed with TA for 2018/19 school year and applicants who newly apply for financial assistance for primary and secondary students) should submit the completed ECs to the schools in which the children are attending within the designated period: 

  • If the EC is received before the commencement date of school : within 1 week from the commencement date of school
  • If the EC is received after the commencement date of school : within 2 weeks from the issue date of EC

Schools will certify the student-applicants’ status and attendance and then forward the ECs to the SFO according to the schedule.

(Note: In general, the SFO will not accept any EC submitted after the deadline.  Applicants submitting late ECs will be considered as self-withdrawing the applications.)

Payment Arrangements
The SFO will release financial assistance by autopay to those students who are confirmed to be eligible for the respective Schemes applied.
Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 3 Sep 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

学生资助处(学资处)为经济有需要的中、小学生提供多项资助计划,包括学校书簿津贴计划、学生车船津贴计划及上网费津贴计划。申请人必须通过家庭入息审查(详情 请按此) 及符合以下资格:

申请学生

  • 申领资助的子女必须是未婚的香港居民、拥有香港居留权、入境权或不附带任何逗留条件(逗留期限除外)的有效香港居留许可。只持旅游签证、双程通行证、学生签证、父或母持学生签证或旅游签证来港的学生均不符合资格申领资助;及
  • 申领资助的子女所就读的学校/院校必须符合下述个别资助计划所列的类别。
     

申请人

  • 申请人必须是申领资助学生的父/母或是根据香港法例第13章《未成年人监护条例》下认可的监护人,若申请人并非学生的父母,他/她必须在申请表详细解释申请并非由学生父母提交的原因并提供证明,如申请人的解释被接纳,学资处会继续处理其申请。
  • 一般而言,正接受综合社会保障援助(综援)的家庭若有子女入读中、小学,有关家庭应直接向社会福利署(社署)申领其子女与就学有关的津贴,包括考试费、书簿费、交通费、家居上网费等津贴,而毋须向学资处递交学生资助计划综合申请。
     

学校书簿津贴计划

申请学生必须为就读於官立学校、资助学校、按位津贴学校及直接资助计划下的本地学校(即直资学校)的小一至高中三(中六)学生。
 

学生车船津贴计划

申请学生必须於中、小学校就读,或在认可的院校修读全日制至学士学位课程,而其居住地点与学校距离超逾10分钟步行时间并需要乘搭公共交通工具上学。
 

上网费津贴计划

上网费津贴计划是为有子女接受全日制中、小学程度教育、或修读全日制毅进文凭课程或职业训练局全日制相关课程而经济有需要的家庭提供津贴,以支付子女家居上网学习费用。 津贴发放以家庭为单位。合资格的家庭不论子女人数多寡,将获发以家庭为单位的定额现金津贴。


中、小学生资助的申请手续

  • 有意在2019/20 学年申请学生资助的申请人应根据申请指引填妥学生资助计划综合申请表格,并尽快於2019年5月31日或之前将填妥的表格连同完整的证明文件直接寄回学资处。
  • 在收到申请人递交的综合申请表格后,学资处会根据申请人填报的资料评估申请人的家庭经济状况是否符合资格获得资助,以及按申请人选择的个别计划的申领资格进行评估。

有关的申请程序如下: 

表格

申请人须填交以下表格:

(1) 适用於在2018/19学年(2019年3月1日或以前)曾(i)成功申请中、小学生资助或(ii)成功申请中、小学生资助及学前学生资助或(iii)成功申请学前学生资助并有子女於2019/20学年升读小一的申请人:

2019年3月下旬起申请人收到学资处邮寄的下列文件

  • 印有家庭成员资料的「学生资助计划综合申请表格」[SFO106A];
  • 「学生资助计划综合申请指引」[SFO107A(1)]及「填写及递交综合申请表格须知」[SFO107A(2)];
  • 供申请人寄回申请表的回邮信封[SFO182];及
  • 附加表格(如适用)

(2) 适用於首次申请中、小学生资助 或 於2019年3月2日或之后交回2018/19「资格证明书」予学资处的申请人

申请人可於2019 年5月起向民政事务处或学校索取申请文件或於学资处网页下载有关申请文件:

  • 「学生资助计划综合申请表格」[SFO7A]
  • 「学生资助计划综合申请指引」[SFO75A(1)]及 「填写及递交综合申请表格须知」[SFO75A(2)];
  • 「证明文件封面页」[SFO108];及
  • 供申请人寄回申请表的回邮信封 [SFO182]
所需文件

申请人须递交以下文件:

  (1) 身份证明文件副本:

  • 「学生资助计划综合申请表格(预印本)」申请人:受供养父母及预印资料需修改或新增的其他家庭成员的身份证明文件副本
  • 「学生资助计划综合申请表格」申请人:申请人本人和申请表内所填报的家庭成员(包括受供养父母(如适用))的身份证明文件副本

(2) 收入证明文件副本:
评核期间(2018年4月1日至2019年3月31日)申请人本人和家庭成员全年收入的证明文件 

递交申请方法

请将填妥的申请表格、证明文件封面页及所需证明文件,一并放入回邮信封,以邮寄方式交回学资处。

由2019/20学年起,除以邮寄方式递交纸本「学生资助计划综合申请表格」及相关证明文件副本外,申请人可选择於网上填写及递交电子申请表格及相关证明文件副本。有关申请安排可参阅学资处网页

注:如申请人已提供香港流动电话号码,学资处会在收到申请表后的20个工作天内以短讯形式发出「申请确认通知」。至於未能提供香港流动电话号码的申请人,学资处将以书面形式邮寄「申请确认通知书」。

递交申请时限
  • 如申请人欲在本年8月底得悉入息审查结果,须在2019年5月31日或之前递交「学生资助计划综合申请表格」及完整的申请资料。
  • 学校书簿津贴的申请人,最迟须於2019年10月31日把「学生资助计划综合申请表格」送抵学资处,否则即使能成功通过入息审查,一般都不会获发学校书簿津贴。
  • 在2019年11月1日或以后递交「学生资助计划综合申请表格」的合资格申请人,申请学生的学生车船津贴会由收到申请表当日或申请学生的入学日期(或曾领取综援的学生停止接受综援的日期)起生效。
  • 在2020年2月1日或以后递交「学生资助计划综合申请表格」及能通过入息审查的申请人,可获发部分上网费津贴。
  • 一般情况下(学前学生资助除外),学资处不会接受在2020年3月1日或以后递交的「学生资助计划综合申请表格」。如情况特殊,学资处会按个别情况作出考虑。
结果通知

在申请人递交申请表格及齐备的申请资料后,学资处会在约三个月内通知申请人其申请结果。通过入息审查的家庭会经邮寄收到以下文件:

  1. 在2018/19学年曾获发学校书簿津贴的申请人:以家庭为单位的结果通知书
  2. 在2018/19学年不曾获发学校书簿津贴的申请人及首次申请中、小学生资助的申请人:以家庭为单位的结果通知书及以学生为单位的「资格证明书」 

上述第(2)类的申请人(即在2018/19学年不曾获发学校书簿津贴的申请人及首次申请中、小学生资助的申请人)须於指定时间内,将已填妥的「资格证明书」交回申请学生就读的学校:

  • 如在开课前收到资格证明书:开课后一星期内
  • 如在开课后收到资格证明书:於资格证明书发出日期后的两星期内

 学校在确认申请学生的身份及出席情况后,会呈交「资格证明书」予学资处。

 注意:一般情况下,学资处不会处理逾期递交的「资格证明书」,申请人将被视为自动放弃申请。

资助发放
学资处会在核实申请学生是否符合个别资助计划的申请资格后,将津贴存入申请人所填报的银行户口。
以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2019年9月3日
电灯胆图像如想作进一步查询?
又或者Ask问问1823