Skip to main content

What kinds of building works are subject to the control under the Minor Work Control System?

Buildings Department

The Minor Works Control System (MWCS) has been fully implemented on 31 December 2010.  Under the new system, the carrying out of the 187 minor building works in private buildings* under Schedule 1 of the Building (Minor Works) Regulation can be commenced through the Simplified Requirements without the need to obtain prior approval of plans and consent in writing for the commencement of the works from the Buildings Department (BD). However, Prescribed Building Professionals (PBP)/Prescribed Registered Contractors (PRC) must be appointed to carry out the minor works. BD keeps separate registers of the professionals and the registers have been uploaded to the BD’s website for reference.   

Minor works are classified into three classes according to their nature, scale and complexity and the risk to safety they posed. Procedures for carrying out the three classes of Minor Works are different. Please click for the details of Types of Minor Works and Procedures for carrying out the Minor Works under simplified requirements.

For works of which their complexity and risk to safety are relatively low, if the works are exempted works under the Buildings Ordinance, the works can be commenced without BD's prior approval and consent.  It is also not necessary to appoint authorized persons and registered contractors to carry out such works. Such exempted works include common household renovation works, such as painting, internal rendering/plastering/wall paper works and removal of internal non-load bearing walls; as well as the 30 items of 'Designated Exempted Works' introduced under the Minor Works Control System.


*includes flats sold through the Private Sector Participation Scheme and flats sole by the Housing Society but New Territories exempted houses are excluded

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 19 Nov 2020
Want to learn more?

跳到主要内容

甚么类型的工程属於「小型工程监管制度」下监管的工程?

屋宇署

「小型工程监管制度」已於 2010 年 12 月 31 日全面实施。在新制度下,於私人楼宇* 进行《建筑物(小型工程)规例》附表 1内列明的 187 项小型工程,无须预先获得屋宇署批准图则和书面同意,便可按照「简化规定」展开有关工程;但工程必须由合资格的订明建筑专业人士,及/或订明注册承建商进行。屋宇署备有相关的注册名单,已上载於 屋宇署网页以供参考。

这些小型工程按其性质、规模、复杂程度和安全风险度,分为3个级别,其进行工程的流程各有不同。详情请见 各级小型工程分类列表和 简化规定下进行各级工程的流程图

一些复杂程度及安全风险较低的工程,如属於《建筑物条例》下的豁免管制工程,则可以无须事先向屋宇署提交图则及取得同意便可以展开,亦无须聘请认可人士及注册承建商进行有关工程。这些工程包括一般家居装修工程如髹漆、室内灰水、批荡、墙纸工程和拆除室内非承重墙等,以及因应「小型工程监管制度」而引进的 30 项「指定豁免工程」。

 

 *包括私人参建居屋及房协出售单位,但新界豁免村屋(丁屋)除外。

以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2020年11月19日
如想作进一步查询?
又或者问问1823