Skip to main content

Can Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) Scheme benefit, Occupational Retirement Scheme benefit or Gratuity be used to offset Severance Payment or Long Service Payment?

Labour Department

The accrued benefit held in the MPF scheme, gratuities based on length of service, or occupational retirement scheme benefits, can be used to offset severance payment or long service payment; but is limited to the part attributable to employer's contributions only. Hence the amount of severance payment or long service payment that needs to be made by the employer can be reduced according to the calculation method shown below. The amount that can be offset is as follows -

  • If the aforesaid payments exceed the severance payment/long service payment, the employer can only reduce an amount equivalent to the severance payment/long service payment; and
  • If these payments fall short of the severance payment/long service payment, the employer is required to pay the difference.

severance payment

  • For enquiries on application for payment of an amount from the occupational retirement scheme benefits or accrued benefits in the MPF scheme, please contact the trustees concerned for details; or contact the Mandatory Provident Fund Authority (Tel: 2918 0102) for enquiries.

 

The Legislative Council has passed the legislation to abolish using the accrued benefits of employers' mandatory contributions under the Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) System to offset severance payment and long service payment in June 2022. The Government has announced that the abolition of offsetting arrangement will take effect on 1 May 2025. Please visit the "Abolition of MPF Offsetting Arrangement Thematic Website" for details.

 

The is not a legal document. The Ordinance remains the sole authority for the provisions of the law explained.

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments (Please do not provide personal data):
Last update: 14 May 2024
Want to learn more?

I am 1823 Chatbot. Do you have any questions for me?

跳到主要內容

強積金計劃的累算權益、一筆過按服務年資支付的酬金,或一筆過的職業退休金,是否可以抵銷遣散費或長期服務金?

勞工處

強積金計劃的累算權益、一筆過按服務年資支付的酬金,或一筆過的職業退休金,是可以抵銷遣散費或長期服務金的;但只限歸因於僱主供款部份。故此僱主需支付遣散費或長期服務金可按以下所示的計算方法減少。可抵銷的款額上限如下:

  • 如上述的款項較遣散費或長期服務金多,僱主只能扣除遣散費或長期服務金的數目
  • 如果不足夠抵銷所須的款項,僱主要補足差額

mpf_Chi

  • 有關申請發還強積金計劃累算權益或職業退休金的詳情,請向有關計劃的受託人查詢;或致電強制性公積金計劃管理局(即積金局),電話:2918 0102。

 

注意:立法會於2022年6月通過法例,落實取消強制性公積金(強積金)制度下以僱主的強制性供款累算權益「對沖」遣散費及長期服務金的安排。政府已宣布將於2025年5月1日實施取消「對沖」安排。詳情請參考取消強積金「對沖」安排專題網站

 

這份文件並非法律文件。有關法例條文的詮釋,仍以法例原文為準。

以上資訊對你有用嗎?
以上資訊的內容是否足夠?
是否容易獲得你需要的資訊?
其他意見(請勿輸入個人資料):
最後更新日期2024年5月14日
如想作進一步查詢?

不如等我呢位1823智能助理幫你搵搵相關嘅常見問題呀~