Skip to main content

For any emergency situation or if an animal poses threats to life and property, please call 999 or the nearby police station.

What kind of animals causes nuisance to you?

  1. Wild Pigs
  2. Wild Pigeons
  3. Monkeys
  4. Snakes

You may contact 1823 for information of other animals.

1. Wild Pigs

Generally, wild pigs are afraid of human beings. However, if wild pigs are provoked or threatened, they can be aggressive. Therefore, if you see a wild pig, you should keep calm and stay away from it. Do not throw objects at the wild pig or arouse its attention.

If you are disturbed by a wild pig or a wild pig is trapped in the urban area, you may call 1823 to notify the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department (AFCD) for follow up. AFCD will investigate and provide advice to avoid wild pigs. AFCD will help drive away or catch the wild pig if needed. When a wild pig is found at the scene posing threats to life and property, you may report to the police by calling 999 for emergency assistance. 
 

2. Wild Pigeons

AFCD does not provide services to catch or drive away wild pigeons.  You may handle wild pigeons in the following ways:

  1. Employ private pest control companies
  2. Stop feeding pigeon
  3. Management office's measures
  4. Habitat modification

I. Employ private pest control companies
Pigeons are not protected wild animals.

There are private pest control companies which provide services to handle wild pigeons. You may hire such companies if necessary.
However, this is not the long term solution. Wherever birds are removed, new birds from the surrounding areas will quickly move in to take their places. Pigeons will always come back to places where food and roosting sites are readily available.

II. Stop Feeding Pigeons
Pigeons will not stay as long as there is no food supply.

III. Measures Taken by Property Management Office

  1. Erect signs discouraging feeding of pigeons by the tenants
  2. Install a needle-shape facility at the roof-top to stop pigeons from roosting.

IV. Habitat Modification
Disabling pigeons' nesting and roosting sites is the most effective, safe, economical and humane way. Continuous cleaning of the relevant premises is helpful to tackle the problem.

Notice: It is not recommended to use poisons to exterminate pigeons. Use of poisons can be extremely dangerous to humans, especially children, as well as to pets and other wildlife.

Also, gloves should be worn while cleaning up birds droppings. Face and hands should be washed after contact with the birds or their droppings. It requires public's cooperation to solve the problem of feral pigeon nuisance, so please stop feeding pigeons.
 

3. Monkeys

In general, monkeys do not actively disturb people. In order to avoid nuisance caused by monkeys, you should not feed any wild monkeys. You should also hide all plastic bags away and put them in other types of bags.  Avoid eating while monkeys are watching you.  Besides, you should avoid staring at monkeys as they are aggressive.  When you meet monkeys at country parks, you should move slowly, quietly and keep some distance from them.  Do not approach monkeys, especially baby monkeys, and keep children away from them. If you are disturbed by monkeys in country park, please call 1823 to inform AFCD.

If you find monkeys foraging in the estates, you should notify the estate management office to chase the monkeys away. Public should properly handle the refuse at outdoor areas to prevent monkeys from searching for food. These help to stop monkeys from returning to foraging in the residential area. If property management staff fails to chase away the monkeys,  please call 1823 to inform AFCD. 

For more information on handling stray monkeys or requesting staff of AFCD to demonstrate tools and techniques in chasing monkeys, staff of property management companies / organizations may call 1823 for details. 
 

4. Snakes

AFCD does not provide services to trap or chase snakes. Public may contact the nearby police station or call 999 for emergency assistance. Police will request professional snake catcher to catch snakes at the location if necessary. Besides, there are some pest control companies which provide similar services. If any snake poses threats to life and property, please report to the police by calling 999 for emergency assistance.

Most of the snake species retain gentle temperament. U nless they are disturbed or defending their territories, under normal circumstances snakes do not actively attack or remain close to people. You should take precaution measures to keep your premises and surrounding environment clean and tidy, clear any possible space for snake to hide. You should also clear refuse, fill up holes and cracks on ground or wall, trim or properly clear wilted branches and overgrown vegetation to eliminate the harborage of snakes.  Moreover, you should block the drain connected into the house or chain link fence to avoid snakes from entering the house.

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 4 Sep 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

如情况紧急或该动物对你或其他人的人身安全构成威胁时,请立即致电 999 或 就近警署

对你造成骚扰的是甚么动物?

  1. 野猪
  2. 野鸽
  3. 猴子

如你发现的野生动物不在以上之列,请致电 1823 查询。

1. 野猪

一般情况下,野猪十分怕人,但野猪遇到攻击或骚扰时,它的反应可具攻击性。因此,如市民遇到野猪时,应保持镇定及尽量与它们保持距离,切勿主动走近或引起它们的注意,更不应用物件抛向或驱赶它们,以免发生危险。

如市民受野猪滋扰,或发现野猪误闯或被困市区,可致电 1823 通知渔农自然护理署(渔护署)。渔护署会派员到场了解野猪出现的原因,并就防止野猪滋扰提供意见。如有需要时,渔护署会派员到场驱赶或捕捉野猪。 一旦人身安全受到威胁,应立即致电 999 通知警方派员到场采取行动,以保护安全。
 

2. 野鸽

渔护署并没有提供捕捉或驱赶野鸽服务。市民可使用以下处理方法:

  1. 雇用私人防治虫鼠公司
  2. 杜绝喂饲野鸽活动
  3. 管理处措施
  4. 生境改造

I. 雇用私人防治虫鼠公司
野鸽并非受保护野生动物。

本港有一些私人防治虫鼠公司乐意提供防治野鸽的服务,市民可雇用私人防治虫鼠公司处理野鸽问题。
移走野鸽并不可以长远解决野鸽滋扰问题。每当清除旧有的野鸽后,新的野鸽便会随即从四周迁入,取代它们。野鸽亦会经常返回食物随处可得的地方。

II. 杜绝喂饲野鸽活动
只要没有食物供应,野鸽便不会於该处长期逗留。

III. 管理处措施

  1. 竖立标志,劝告住客切勿喂饲野鸽。
  2. 在屋檐上加装长针形设施,使野鸽不能停留休息。

IV. 生境改造
消除野鸽筑巢和栖息的地方,是最有效、安全、经济而又人道的方法。持续清洁有关场所肯定对解决野鸽栖生问题有帮助。

注意:不建议使用毒药灭绝野鸽,因此方法可能会对人类,尤其是小童,以至宠物和其他野生动物构成高度危险。

另外,处理野鸽时应采取卫生防预措施,包括清理野鸽时应戴上手套、接触野鸽或其粪便后应即洗手和脸。要解决野鸽滋扰问题,实有赖市民合作,尤其紧记必须停止喂饲野鸽。
 

3. 猴子

一般情况下,猴子不会主动滋扰人类。要避免猴子受食物引诱而作出滋扰行为,市民除切勿喂饵野生猴子外,更应把所有手携胶袋放入布袋或背包中,并切勿在猴子面前进食。此外,应避免用眼盯视猴子,因为眼神接触可被视作一种挑衅行为。游人在郊野公园遇有猴子靠近时应放慢脚步,与它们保持距离及静静地前行,不要走近或让小孩子接触猴子(特别是幼猴),应与它们保持距离。如在郊野公园内遇上猴子滋扰,可致电 1823 通知渔护署处理。

如果发现猴子在屋苑内或附近出现,应立即通知屋苑管理员作出即时驱赶行动。管理处亦需妥善处理户外的垃圾,减低猴子在屋苑内找到食物的机会,这有助防止猴子再回到屋苑觅食及逗留。如屋苑管理员未能驱赶猴子,可致电 1823 通知渔护署,渔护署会尽快派员到场处理。

如各屋苑管理处需要有关驱赶猴子方法的资料,可致电 1823 与渔护署联络,渔护署会派员到场作讲解及示范。
 

4. 蛇

渔护署并不提供捕捉或驱赶蛇的服务,市民可即时联络附近警署,或致电 999 要求协助。警方备存一份专业捉蛇人员名单,有需要时会要求他们到场捉蛇。此外,部分私人灭虫公司亦提供类似服务。 一旦人身安全受到威胁,应立即致电 999 通知警方派员到场采取行动,以保护安全。

大多数品种的蛇性情害羞,除感到受威胁或防卫巢穴外,一般情况下很少主动滋扰人类。市民遇到蛇时,应保持镇静,并与蛇保持相当距离。为减少遇到蛇的机会,市民可采取一些预防措施,包括保持住所及其周围环境清洁整齐,及清除蛇可匿藏的暗角。因此,应清理垃圾及堆积物件,填平地下或墙壁的洞穴及裂缝,并剪短或适当地清理林下植物和枯枝、浓密的枝叶及长草,以免蛇有藏身之处。另外,市民亦可用细孔网布封闭通入屋内的渠口或铁丝网,以防止蛇进入家居。

以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2019年9月4日
电灯胆图像如想作进一步查询?
又或者Ask问问1823