Skip to main content

Basically water seepage in residential flats belongs to building management and maintenance problem and property owners have the major responsibility to solve the problem. You should quickly approach your neighbour for investigation and repair work to resolve the problem if the seepage is suspected to originate from the flat on the upper floor or next door. Owners should directly engage a building technician or licensed plumber to identify the cause of seepage for prompt repairs. Please also refer to the investigation methods in the “Do-it-yourself Water Seepage Test” pamphlet as published by the Joint Office set up by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD) and the Buildings Department (BD).  Besides, assistance may be sought from the management firm or the Owners' Corporation of your building. Where necessary, you should with the engagement of a building professional or legal consultant request the responsible person to stop the seepage in accordance with the provisions under the Deed of Mutual Covenant, or even lodge a claim for damages. 

 

Assistance provided by government departments
If you cannot resolve the problem of water seepage with your neighbour, please contact the Joint Office set up by the FEHD and the BD for assistance. The Joint Office will assist to identify the source of seepage.  If necessary, the Joint Office will refer cases to the BD or the Water Supplies Department (WSD) for follow up action.  (For example, the BD will tackle the problem of building dilapidations and defective drains under the Buildings Ordinance, while WSD will check if there is any wastage of water under the Waterworks Ordinance.)  

 

Time required by the Joint Office to investigate the cause of water seepage
The Joint Office will contact the complainant within six working days upon receipt of a complaint. When handling a seepage complaint, the cooperation of all parties concerned is essential to allow the investigation officer access for testing and collecting evidence inside both the complainant's flat as well as the other flat suspected to be causing seepage in order to prove the seepage source.

If the owner/occupant concerned refuses to co-operate, the Joint Office will have to apply to the Court for a warrant to enter the flat in question. With the co-operation of the concerned owners/occupiers, normally the Joint Office will complete the investigation and inform the complainant of the outcome within 90 working days.  If the investigation cannot be completed within 90 working days, the Joint Office will notify the complainant of the investigation progress in writing. If the seepage is mild or intermittent or if the source of seepage cannot be identified after investigation, Government intervention will cease.

 

Statutory powers to stop water seepage
The Joint Office has been authorised to enforce the relevant provisions of the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance. Where the source of seepage is identified, the Office can issue:

  1. a Nuisance Notice to the person concerned requiring the abatement of nuisance within a specified period of time, failing which the person will be subject to prosecution. Upon conviction, the person concerned is liable to a maximum fine of HK$10,000 and a daily fine of HK$200 if nuisance persists; and
  2. the Joint Office may also apply to the Court for a Nuisance Order requiring the person concerned to abate the nuisance. Failure to comply with the order will result in prosecution. Upon conviction, the penalty will be a maximum fine of HK$25,000 and a daily fine of HK$450 if nuisance persists. 

 

How to contact the Joint Office
Please call 1823 or contact the Joint Office directly.  For the addresses and contact numbers of Joint Offices, please click here.

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 2 Sep 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

在私人物业出现渗水情况,基本上是楼宇管理和维修问题,主要应由业主负责。如果怀疑渗水是源自楼上或毗邻的单位,你应尽快与有关业主商讨,要求协助检验找出渗水源头及进行维修工程。有关业主应聘请建筑技术人员或持牌水喉匠,鉴定渗水源头及加以修理。有关检测方法可参考由屋宇署及食物环境衞生署联合办事处所编印的 「家居渗水简易测试」小册子。此外,你亦可向大厦或屋苑的物业管理公司或业主立案法团寻求协助;必要时可聘请建筑和法律顾问,根据大厦公契内容要求负责人士改善渗水,甚至以法律行动向对方提出索偿。

 

政府部门可提供的帮助
假如无法与邻居协商解决渗水问题,你可以向由屋宇署及食物环境衞生署成立的联合办事处求助,联合办事处会就渗水投诉作出初步调查;若渗水构成衞生妨扰,联合办事处便会根据《公众衞生及市政条例》的相关条文处理。如有需要,亦会转介个案予屋宇署或水务署 (例如屋宇署会按《建筑物条例》,跟进楼宇结构安全及外墙排水渠失修问题;而水务署则按《水务设施条例》,跟进浪费食水的情况 )。若渗水是轻微或间歇性,而调查未能找出源头,政府的介入行动便会终止。

 

调查渗水源头要多久
根据工作程序,联合联办处会在收到投诉后的6个工作天内联络投诉人。职员会先作现场视察,然后进入被投诉的单位,有系统地进行非破坏式测试,以确定渗水源头。倘若得到有关业主/住户的合作,调查通常可於90个工作天内完成,以及将结果通知投诉人。若未能於90个工作天内完成调查,联合联办处会书面告知投诉人调查进展。对拒绝合作的业主/住户,联合联办处会向法庭申请手令进入有关单位调查,以致整个调查所需的时间可能延长。

 

有关处理渗水滋扰的法定权力
由於联合办事处获授权执行《公众卫生及市政条例》的相关条文,当证实渗水源头后,可发出:

  1. 「妨扰事故通知」予有关业主/住户,规定有关业主/住户在指明的期限内减除渗水滋扰,否则会被检控;一经定罪,最高可被罚款$10,000,如滋扰情况持续另加每日罚款$200 ;及
  2. 当局亦可向法庭申请 「妨扰事故命令」,饬令有关人士减除渗水滋扰。如不遵照法庭命令,会被检控;一经定罪,最高可被罚款$25,000,如滋扰情况持续另加每日罚款$450 。

 

联合办事处的联络 方法
你可以致电 1823,或直接联络联合办事处。各区联合办事处的地址及电话, 请按此

以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2021年4月21日
如想作进一步查询?
又或者问问1823