Skip to main content

What is the definition of ‘severely disabled’ under the Disability Allowance?

Social Welfare Department

Definition of ‘severely disabled’

A person will be considered as severely disabled within the meaning of this Scheme if he/she is certified by the Director of Health or the Chief Executive, Hospital Authority (or under exceptional circumstances by a registered medical practitioner of a private hospital) as falling into one of the following categories :

 

  1. Disabling Physical or Mental Condition

1.   Loss of functions of two limbs

2.    Loss of functions of both hands or of all fingers and both thumbs

3.    Loss of functions of both feet

4.    Total loss of sight

5.    Total paralysis (quadriplegia)

6.    Paraplegia

7.    Illness, injury or deformity resulting in being bedridden

8.    Any other conditions including visceral diseases which produces a degree of disablement as specified(Note). That means, a person is suffering from a disabling physical or mental condition (including but not limited to organic brain syndrome, intellectual disability, psychosis, neurosis, personality disorder) which produces a degree of disablement broadly equivalent to that in (1) to (7) above, that it is to say, the person needs substantial help from others to cope with daily life.

 

  1. Profoundly Deaf

This means that a person, who suffers from a perceptive or mixed deafness with a hearing loss of 85 decibels or more in the better ear for pure tone frequencies of 500, 1 000 and 2 000 cycles per second, or 75 to 85 decibels with other physical handicaps which include lack of speech and distortion of hearing.

 

(Note)  The severe disability produces significant restriction or lack of ability or volition comparing to other persons of the same age to perform at least one or more of the following activities in daily living to the extent that substantial help from others is required:

(i)    working in the original occupation and performing any other kind of work for which he/she is suited (not applicable for person aged below 15 years)
(ii)    coping with self-care and personal hygiene such as feeding, dressing, grooming, toileting and/or bathing
(iii)    maintaining one’s posture and dynamic balance while standing or sitting, for daily activities, managing indoor transfer (bed/chair, floor/chair, toilet transfer), travelling to clinic, school, place of work
(iv)    expressing oneself, communicating and interacting with others, maintaining cognitive abilities (orientation, attention, concentration, memory, judgment, thinking, learning ability, etc.), maintaining emotional control and social behavior

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments (Please do not provide personal data):
Last update: 9 Mar 2021
Want to learn more?

Looking for information? 1823 Chatbot can help you find related FAQs!

跳到主要内容

严重残疾的定义

要在公共福利金计划下评定为严重残疾,申请人必须经由衞生署署长或医院管理局行政总裁(或在极为特殊情况下由私家医院注册医生)证明,申请人的残疾情况是属於下述任何一项:

  1. 身体或精神残障状况
    1. 丧失二肢的功能
    2. 丧失双手或双手的拇指和所有手指的功能
    3. 丧失双脚的功能
    4. 完全失明
    5. 全身瘫痪(四肢瘫痪)
    6. 下身瘫痪
    7. 因疾病、损伤或变形而导致长期卧床
    8. 因任何其他情况,包括器官残障及下述的残疾情况(注)而导致。申请人的身体或精神残障状况(包括但不仅限於器质性脑综合徵、智障、精神病、神经官能病、人格障碍),其残疾程度与上述(1)至(7)项大致相若,即申请人极需他人协助应付日常生活
  2. 听觉极度受损
    被审定为知觉性或混合性失聪,而失聪程度较轻的耳朵对每秒五百、一千及二千周的纯音频率失聪达八十五分贝或以上,或失聪在七十五至八十五分贝之间而同时有其他身体残障,包括缺乏语言能力及听音不准。

 

(注)    有关严重残疾使该名人士与其他同龄人士比较,在进行下列最少一项或多项日常活动时,受到甚大限制、或并无能力或不能自主进行下列日常活动,极为需要依赖他人的协助:

(i)    从事原有的职业及担任其适合的任何其他种类的工作(不适用於未满15岁的申请人)
(ii)    自我照顾及处理个人衞生,例如进食、穿衣、整理仪容、如厕及/或沐浴
(iii)    在日常活动、室内转换位置(床/椅、地面/椅、如厕)、前往诊所、学校、工作地点中需要站立或坐下时,可维持个人的姿势及平衡
(iv)    表达自己、与别人沟通和互动,维持认知能力(定向、专注力、集中力、记忆、判断力、思维、学习能力等)、维持情绪控制和社交行为
 

以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2021年3月9日
如想作进一步查询?
又或者问问1823