Skip to main content

Why do I still receive the rates demand note though a rates concession has been announced in the Budget?

Rating and Valuation Department

The Government announced in the 2019-2020 Budget Speech that rates concession will be given to rate payers to offset the rates payable for the four quarters, April 2019 to March 2020, subject to a ceiling of $1,500 per quarter for each rateable tenement. The concession does not apply to payment of Government Rent.

Rate payers may still receive "Demand for rates and/or Government rent" (Demand) from the Rating and Valuation Department (RVD) for the following reasons -

  • The quarterly Demand will show the details of the concession and the rates payable after offsetting the concession amount. Even though the rates payable is zero, RVD will still issue the Demand to the payer for reference; or
  • The payer is still required to pay Government rent; or
  • The rates payable is more than $1,500 per quarter.

Upon receipt of the Demand, the payer is required to make the payment by the due date. A 5% surcharge will be imposed immediately after the last day for payment. A further 10% surcharge will be imposed on any amount remaining outstanding (including the 5% surcharge already imposed) six months after the original last day for payment.

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 3 Apr 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

财政预算案中说会宽减差饷,但为何仍然收到差饷单?

差饷物业估价署

政府於 2019-2020 年度财政预算案中,公布宽减 2019 年4月至2020 年3月四个季度差饷的措施。宽减幅度以每个应缴差饷物业每季 $1,500 为上限,但宽减只适用於差饷,并不包括地租。

在此宽减措施下,差饷缴纳人仍可能会收到由差饷物业估价署发出的《徵收差饷及/或地租通知书》,因为:

  • 季度的徵收通知书会详细列出差饷宽减款额及扣除宽减额后的应缴款额,即使该物业的应缴总额为零,差饷物业估价署仍会发出通知书供缴纳人参考;或
  • 有关物业仍需缴交地租;或
  • 该季需缴交的差饷金额高於 $1,500。

收到通知书后,缴纳人应在最后缴款日期前缴付应缴总额,否则须付 5% 的附加费。如在最后缴款日期过后 6 个月仍未缴交,尚未偿还的款项(包括 5% 附加费)将再被加徵 10% 的附加费。

以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2019年4月3日
电灯胆图像如想作进一步查询?
又或者Ask问问1823