Skip to main content

What are the application procedures and the payment arrangement for Comprehensive Social Security Assistance Scheme?

Social Welfare Department

Application procedures of Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) Scheme

How to apply

A person can make an application directly to a social security field unit near to his/her place of residence by phone, by fax, by e-mail, by post or in person. An application may also be made through a referral to the Social Welfare Department (SWD) by another government department or a non-governmental organization. Upon receipt of an application, staff of SWD will conduct investigation and verification of the applicant’s circumstances and information provided through office interview and home visit. All application procedures are processed in Hong Kong.

 

Persons unfit to apply

If an applicant is aged below 18 without a parent or legal guardian or is an adult aged 18 or above who has been medically certified to be unfit to make a statement on his/her own, an appointee will be appointed by the Director of Social Welfare to act on his/her behalf. Please contact social security field units for details.

 

Documents / Information required

Depending on the circumstances of individual cases, staff of SWD will ask the applicant and his/her family members to produce the following documents; the applicant should ask the SWD staff responsible for his/her case on the documents required after the application is submitted :

  • Identity documents (such as Hong Kong Identity Cards (for those aged 11 or above), Birth Certificates (for those aged below 11) and Certificate of Exemption, etc.)
  • Marriage certificates or documents of divorce, if applicable
  • Proofs of accommodation expenses (such as rent receipts, rent card, tenancy agreement, receipts of water & sewage charge, demands for rates and receipts of management fee, etc.)
  • Proofs of assets (including those in Hong Kong, Macau, the Mainland or overseas) (such as bank passbooks and bank statements showing the latest balance, time deposit receipts, insurance policy statements, stocks, proof of property/land ownership and other documentary proofs of valuable possessions, etc.)
  • Proofs of educational expenses (such as receipts of school fee and school bus fee, etc.) and student handbooks
  • Travel documents (such as Passports, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Re-entry Permit, HKSAR Document of Identity for Visa Purposes, Hong Kong Entry Permit, Home Visit Permit and One-way Permit, etc.)
  • Proofs of income (such as Mandatory Provident Fund pay-records, pay slips and, employer’s statement, etc.)
  • Medical follow-up cards/appointment slips
  • Proofs of financial relationship with other family members (including parents and siblings)
  • Other relevant documents as required by SWD.

Where necessary,SWD will make enquiries to the Director of Health/Chief Executive of Hospital Authority for medical reports, or to the applicant’s employer/ex-employer for verification. SWD will also seek information related to the applicant and his/her family members from the Immigration Department, other government departments and organizations (including banks).

 

Notification of Result of Application, Payment Method and Permissible Limits of Absence from Hong Kong During Receipt of Assistance
  • After completion of investigation, a formal notification letter will be sent to the applicant.
  • If the application is successful, a detailed breakdown of the components of the monthly payment, pay-day, payment method and period of payment will be indicated in the notification letter.
  • If the application is unsuccessful, the reason(s) for rejection will be given in the notification letter.
  • If the applicant disagrees with a decision made by SWD, he/she has the right to lodge an appeal with the Social Security Appeal Board.
  • CSSA payment will be calculated from the date of receipt of the application by SWD (or the date of application or referral if the application is referred by another organization) or the date of eligibility, whichever is the later.
  • Able-bodied unemployed adults aged 15-59 are required to participate in the Support for Self-reliance Scheme as a condition of receiving assistance. Their monthly entitlement normally starts one month after the date of application. However, in genuine hardship cases, the Director of Social Welfare may, at his discretion, make payment from the date of application.
  • CSSA payment is usually credited to the applicant’s/guardian’s/appointee’s designated bank account (joint bank account is not accepted) once a month. Under exceptional circumstances, special delivery of cash directly to the applicant can be arranged. For urgent cases, cash payment may be paid to the applicant at the Social Security Field Unit.
  • A recipient’s temporary absences from Hong Kong will not affect the amount of assistance payable on condition that the total number of days of absence in a payment year (which is counted from 1 July to 30 June of the following year) does not exceed the permissible limit as follows :
    • Recipients aged 60 or above or recipients medically certified to be disabled: 180 days per year
    • Other recipients : 60 days per year (If there are special reasons why these recipients have to leave Hong Kong for more than 60 days in a year, the permissible limit of absence from Hong Kong can be extended up to a maximum of 90 days at the discretion of the Director of Social Welfare.)
    • Please click here for details.
Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 3 Oct 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要內容

綜援的申請手續及津貼發放的安排是怎樣?

社會福利署

綜合社會保障援助(綜援)計劃的申請手續

申請方法

申請人可親自前往其區內的 社會保障辦事處、或用電話、傳真、電郵或郵遞方式提出申請,或由政府部門或其他非政府機構轉介。在接到申請後,社會福利署(社署)職員會安排約見申請人和進行家訪,以查核申請人的實際情況及所提供的資料。所有申請手續均須在香港辦理。

 

未能親自提出申請的人士

如申請人未滿18歲而沒有家長或法定監護人,或申請人年滿18歲但經醫生證明身體狀況不適宜親自提出申請,其申請可由社署署長委任一名受委人代其辦理。有關詳情請向 社會保障辦事處查詢。

 

所需證明文件/資料

社署會按個別個案的情況,要求申請人及其家庭成員提供下列證明文件;申請人應在提出申請後向負責個案的社署職員了解所需的文件:

  • 身份證明文件﹝如香港身份證(適用於11歲或以上人士)、出生證明書(適用於11歲以下人士)及豁免證明書等﹞
  • 結婚證書或離婚文件(如適用的話)
  • 住屋開支證明(如租單、租卡、租約、水費及排污費單、徵收差餉通知書及管理費單等)
  • 資產證明(包括在香港、澳門、國內或海外擁有的資產)(如能顯示最近期結餘的銀行存摺及結單、定期存款收據、保險結算單、股票、物業/土地業權證明文件及其他貴重財物的證明文件等)
  • 教育開支證明(如學費單及校巴車費單等)及學生手冊
  • 旅行證件(如護照、香港特別行政區回港證、香港特別行政區簽證身份書、香港入境許可證、港澳居民來往內地通行證(俗稱回鄉證或回鄉卡)及單程證等)
  • 入息證明(如強制性公積金供款紀錄、糧單及僱主證明書等)
  • 覆診卡/覆診預約便條
  • 與其他家庭成員(包括父母及兄弟姊妹)的經濟關係證明
  • 其他社署認為需要的證明文件

如有需要,社署會向衞生署署長/醫院管理局行政總裁索取醫事報告,以及向申請人的僱主和前僱主查詢。社署亦會向入境事務處、其他政府部門和團體(包括銀行)查詢申請人及其他家庭成員的有關資料。

 

通知申請結果、付款方法及在領款期間的離港寬限
  • 當調查工作完成後,社署會發出申請結果通知書給申請人。
  • 如申請獲批,通知書內會列明申請人每月援助金的詳細分項,援助金的發放日期、方法及期限。
  • 如申請不獲批准,通知書內亦會述明申請被拒的原因。
  • 如申請人不同意社署所作出的決定,可向社會保障上訴委員會提出上訴。
  • 開始發放援助金的日期是由社署收到申請的日期 (如申請書是由其他機構轉介,則為申請日期或轉介日期) 或由申請人符合資格的日期起計算,但以較後的日期為準。
  • 如果申請人是15至59歲身體健全的失業人士,必須依照社署規定參加自力更生支援計劃,才符合資格領取援助;而開始發放援助金的日期通常為申請日期起計一個月之後。但如申請人有真正困難,社署署長可酌情由申請日期起給予援助。
  • 援助金一般會每月一次存入申請人或其監護人/受委人的指定銀行戶口(不接納聯名銀行戶口)。在特殊情況下,社署可安排將現金直接送交申請人。社會保障辦事處亦可發放現金給有緊急需要的人士。
  • 受助人短暫離港並不影響其可得的援助金額,但其在付款年度內(即每年7月1日至翌年6月30日)離港的總日數不得超出下列寬限:
    • 60歲或以上或殘疾受助人的離港寬限為每年180天 
    • 其他類別受助人的離港寬限為每年60天(受助人如因特殊理由而須在年度內離港超過60天,社署署長可行使酌情決定權,把有關的離港寬限延長至最長達90天。)
    • 詳情 請按此
以上資訊對你有用嗎?
以上資訊的內容是否足夠?
是否容易獲得你需要的資訊?
其他意見:
最後更新日期2019年10月3日
電燈膽圖像如想作進一步查詢?
又或者Ask問問1823