Skip to main content

What enforcement actions will be taken by the Buildings Department in respect of unauthorized building works?

Buildings Department

If the Buildings Department (BD) receives complaints about suspicious unauthorized building/unauthorized building works (UBW), BD will arrange staff or appoint consultants to conduct investigation.  In addition, BD will conduct enforcement actions according to the UBW enforcement policy formulated after public consultation. 

 

Issue "Warning Notice" or "Order"

If the complaint is valid after investigation, BD can conduct enforcement actions under the Buildings Ordinance:

  1. For UBW in progress, BD to issue letter to request property owner to terminate the work;
  2. For completed UBW, BD to issue "Warning Notice" or "Order" to request property owner to remove UBW within the specified period.

 

The consequences of non-compliance with the "Warning Notice"

  1. If property owner does not remove the concerned UBW within the period specified in the Warning Notice, BD will registered the Warning Notice with the Land Registry to constitute an encumbrance on the property title. The value and transaction of the property may be affected.
  2. If the situation changes, such as the concerned UBW leads to potential hazards to the public or becomes a target of large scale clearance operations, BD will consider to issue "Order" to property owner again to request for removal of the UBW.   

 

The consequences of non-compliance with the "Order" 

  1. If property owner does not comply with the "Order" to remove UBW, Buildings Department may have the demolition work carried out by a Government contractor. The property owner will then be billed for all costs plus a supervision charge.
  2. Not complying with the "Order" is a criminal offence.  Any property owner who fails, without reasonable excuse, to comply with an Order shall be guilty of an offence with a maximum penalty of one year's imprisonment and a maximum fine of HK$200,000. For continuing offences, there is a further daily fine of HK$20,000.
  3. The Order will also be recorded in the Land Registry and, if the property is mortgaged, the financial institution concerned will be notified.
Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 2 Sep 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

对於违例建筑物/违例建筑工程,屋宇署会采取甚么执法行动?

屋宇署

当屋宇署接到怀疑违例建筑物/违例建筑工程的投诉,屋宇署会派员或聘请顾问进行调查,并会根据经谘询公众后订立的清拆僭建物政策,采取跟进行动。

 

发出 「警告通知」/「命令」

如调查属实,屋宇署可根据《建筑物条例》采取下列行动:

  1. 就进行中的工程,发信著令业主停止有关工程;
  2. 就已完成的工程,向业主发出 「警告通知」 或 「命令」 ,规定业主在指定期间内拆卸违例建筑物。

 

不遵从 「警告通知」 的后果

  1. 如业主没有在「警告通知」内的指定日期前将有关的违例建筑物拆卸,屋宇署便会根据《建筑物条例》的规定,将有关的「警告通知」在土地注册处记录在案,造成物业产权负担,物业在楼宇买卖时的价值将可能会降低或构成障碍。
  2. 若情况有变,例如有关的违例建筑物对公众构成危险、或变成大型清拆行动的目标等,屋宇署会考虑再向业主发出「命令」要求清拆有关的违例建筑物。 

 

不遵从 「命令」的后果

  1. 如业主不遵从屋宇署发出的「命令」清拆违例建筑物,屋宇署可指示承建商代为清拆违例建筑物,并会於事后向有关业主追讨工程费及监工费。
  2. 屋宇署亦可对不遵从「命令」的业主提出检控。业主若没有合理辩解,一经定罪,最高刑罚为监禁一年及罚款港币 $200,000。若违法情况持续,会被加判每日罚款港币 $20,000。
  3. 有关命令亦会在土地注册处记录在案。物业如有按揭,有关的财务机构亦可能会获得通知。
以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2019年9月2日
电灯胆图像如想作进一步查询?
又或者Ask问问1823