Skip to main content

Statutory Minimum Wage (SMW) applies to all employees, whether they are monthly-rated, weekly-rated, daily-rated, hourly-rated, piece-rated, permanent, casual, full-time, part-time or other employees, and regardless of whether they are employed under a continuous contract as defined in the Employment Ordinance, with the following exceptions:

  • persons to whom the Employment Ordinance does not apply, please click here
  • live-in domestic workers
    This refers to domestic workers (including domestic helpers, carers, chauffeurs, gardeners, boat-boys or other personal helpers) who dwell free of charge in their employing household, irrespective of their sex, race or nationality.

    Points to note :
    The following persons are not live-in domestic workers and SMW applies to them :
    - domestic workers not dwelling free of charge in their employing household
    - live-in employees who are not domestic workers
     
  • Specified student interns and work experience students during a period of exempt student employment

A specified student intern is :

  • a student undergoing a period of work arranged or endorsed by a local education institution specified in Schedule 1 to the Minimum Wage Ordinance, and the work is a compulsory or elective component of the requirements of a full-time accredited programme being provided by the institution to the student; or
  • a student resident in Hong Kong and undergoing a period of work arranged or endorsed by an institution, and the work is a compulsory or elective component of the requirements of a full-time education programme for a non-local academic qualification at degree or higher level being provided by the institution to the student.

A specified work experience student is :

  • a student who is enrolled in a full-time accredited programme provided by a local education institution specified in Schedule 1 to the Minimum Wage Ordinance; or
  • a student who is resident in Hong Kong and enrolled in a full-time education programme for a non-local academic qualification at degree or higher level

and is under the age of 26 years at the beginning of employment. The work experience student may agree with the employer to have a continuous period of up to 59 days as exempt student employment if:

  1. the student has not commenced another exempt student employment period within the same calendar year (A calendar year runs from 1 January to 31 December.) (whether under the employment of the same employer or not); and 
  2. the student has made a statutory declaration verifying the fact in (a) above and provided the declaration (or copy) to the employer.


Points to note : 

Employees with disabilities


Self-employed persons

  • SMW does not apply to contractors and self-employed persons. For information about the difference between an “employee” and a “contractor or self-employed person”, please refer to the leaflet on Employee? Contractor / Self-employed Person?  (PDF)
  • Even though a worker is called a contractor or self-employed person or has been labelled as a self-employed person in the contract, the employer is still required to fulfil his responsibilities under the relevant legislation by paying back statutory benefits retroactively to the worker who is falsely labelled as a self-employed person if in essence there exists an employer-employee relationship between the parties. The employer may also be liable to criminal sanctions for contravention of the relevant legislation.
  • An employer should not unilaterally change the status of his employee to a contractor or self-employed person. Otherwise, the employee may lodge a claim for remedies against the employer under the Employment Ordinance and common law. If an employee intends to change his status to a contractor or self-employed person, he must carefully assess the pros and cons involved, including the employment rights and benefits that he may lose in such a change.


For further details on Statutory Minimum Wage, please refer to Labour Department's website, please click here.

 
 
Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 23 Oct 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

法定最低工资适用於所有雇员,不论他们是月薪、周薪、日薪、时薪、件薪、长工、临时工、全职、兼职或其他雇员,也不論他们是否按《雇佣条例》的「 連续性合约」受雇,但不适用於下列人士:

  • 《雇佣条例》所不适用的人士,请按此;
  • 留宿家庭佣工
    这是指免费居於受雇工作的住户的家庭佣工(包括:家务助理、护理员、司机、园丁、船工或其他私人佣工),不论该佣工的性别、种族及国籍。

    注意:
    以下人士不属於留宿家庭佣工,法定最低工资是适用於他们:

- 不是免费居於受雇工作的住户的家庭佣工 
- 不是家庭佣工的留宿雇员

 

  • 指定的实习学员及正处於获豁免学生雇用期的指定工作经验学员
    • 指定的实习学员指下列类别的学生雇员: 
      • 进行由《最低工资条例》附表1指明的本地教育机构安排或认可的工作实习,而这实习属该教育机构向该学生提供的全日制经评审课程的必修或选修部分;或
      • 居於香港,并进行由某机构安排或认可的工作实习,而这实习属该机构向该学生提供的学位或更高程度的非本地学术资格的全日制教育课程的必修或选修部分。
    • 指定的工作经验学员指下列类别的学生雇员:
      • 修读由《最低工资条例》附表1指明的本地教育机构提供的全日制经评审课程;或
      • 居於香港,并修读学位或更高程度的非本地学术资格的全日制教育课程,而该学生在开始受雇时仍未满26岁,以及与雇主协议获豁免学生雇用期,为期不多於连续59天,并须符合以下条件 - 
      • a. 该学生不曾於同一公历年(公历年是由1月1日至12月31日)内开始另一段获豁免学生雇用期(不论是否受雇於同一雇主);以及
      • b. 该学生已就以上(a)项的事实作出法定声明,并向雇主提供有关的法定声明或其副本。

 

请注意: 

残疾雇员


自雇人士

  • 法定最低工资并不适用於判头或自雇人士。有关「雇员」与「判头或自雇人士」的分别,可參考《 雇员?判头/自雇人士?》(PDF) 单张。
  • 如果双方实质上存在雇佣关系,即使雇主声称雇员为判头或自雇人士,或雇员在合约中被称为自雇人士,雇主仍必须履行他在有关法例下的责任,向被假称为自雇人士的雇员偿付可追溯的法定权益,亦可能要负上触犯有关法例的刑责。
  • 雇主不可以单方面将雇员转为判头或自雇人士,否则雇员可根据《雇佣条例》及普通法,向雇主追讨补偿。雇员在考虑转为判头或自雇人士身份前,必须审慎评估利弊,包括可能因而丧失的雇佣权益。

 

有关最低工资的详情,请参考劳工处的相关网页,请按此

 
 
以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2019年10月23日
电灯胆图像如想作进一步查询?
又或者Ask问问1823