Skip to main content

How are the Public Rental Housing estates in Hong Kong distributed? Is there any district restriction for PRH applicants in selecting the location of PRH flats?

Hong Kong Housing Authority & Housing Department

Public Rental Housing (PRH) estates in Hong Kong are mainly distributed in four districts, namely:

  • Urban (including Hong Kong Island and Kowloon);
  • Extended Urban (including Tung Chung, Shatin, Ma On Shan, Tseung Kwan O, Tsuen Wan, Kwai Chung and Tsing Yi);
  • New Territories (including Tuen Mun, Yuen Long, Tin Shui Wai, Sheung Shui, Fanling and Tai Po);
  • Islands (excluding Tung Chung).

Owing to the scarcity of PRH units in the Urban district, PRH applicants can only choose any one from among the three non-urban districts for their future housing allocation. However, applicants who are eligible to join the Single Elderly Persons Priority Scheme, the Elderly Persons Priority Scheme or the Harmonious Families Priority Scheme and opt to live with their elderly family member(s) in the same flat may choose any district.

[Note: Applicants registered on the Waiting List on or before 30 September 2016 are allowed to switch their choice to the Urban district. Equivalent date of registration must be adopted if it is found in the application.]

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments (Please do not provide personal data):
Last update: 22 Dec 2023
Want to learn more?

I am 1823 Chatbot. Do you have any questions for me?