Skip to main content

What are the eligibility criteria of Disability Allowance? What is the amount of assistance payable?

Social Welfare Department

The Disability Allowance can be divided into Normal Disability Allowance and Higher Disability Allowance.  It is a monthly allowance provided by Social Welfare Department (SWD) to the severely disabled Hong Kong residents to meet special needs arising from disability.  The Scheme is non-contributory and the allowances paid under the Scheme are non-means-tested. From 1 February 2019 onwards, the amount of assistance payable per month of Normal Disability Allowance and Higher Disability Allowance is HK$1,770 and HK$3,540 respectively.

An applicant is eligible for the Disability Allowance if he/she: 

  1. meets the following residence requirements:
    1. has been a Hong Kong resident for at least seven years; and 
    2. has resided in Hong Kong continuously for at least one year immediately before the date of application (absence from Hong Kong up to a maximum of 56 days during the one-year period is treated as residence in Hong Kong).

     Note:

  • Persons whose presence in Hong Kong is unlawful or persons who are permitted to stay in Hong Kong for a purpose other than residence (for example, imported workers or visitors) are excluded from the Scheme.
  • Hong Kong residents aged below 18 applying for Disability Allowance are exempted from the residence requirements in (a) and (b) above.
  • In considering the residence requirement in (b) above, consideration can be given to disregarding absences arising from full-time study or paid work outside Hong Kong during the one-year period, subject to there being sufficient documentary proof.
  1. continues to reside in Hong Kong during receipt of Disability Allowance( Please click here for information on the permissible limit of absence from Hong Kong).
  2. is not receiving Old Age Allowance or Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA); 
  3. is not under detention or imprisonment; and 
  4. meets the criteria of the particular allowance as below
    • Normal Disability Allowance
      1. is certified by the Director of Health or the Chief Executive, Hospital Authority (or under exceptional circumstances by a registered medical practitioner of a private hospital) to be severely disabled(Please click here for the definition of ‘severely disabled’); and 
      2. his/her disabling condition will persist for at least 6 months.
    • Higher Disability Allowance
      1. in addition to meeting all the criteria for Normal Disability Allowance above, Higher Disability Allowance applicant must be certified by the Director of Health or the Chief Executive, Hospital Authority (or under exceptional circumstances by a registered medical practitioner of a private hospital) to be in need of constant attendance from others in his/her daily life; and 
      2. is not receiving care in residential institutions subsidized by the government (including subsidized places in subvented/ contract homes and residential care homes under various bought place schemes) or all public hospitals and institutions under the Hospital Authority, or boarding in special schools under the Education Bureau.

Note: If a Higher Disability Allowance applicant has been admitted into the above residential  institutions/public hospitals and institutions for receiving care or special schools under the Education Bureau for boarding service at the time of application, he/she will only be given Normal Disability Allowance. As for existing Higher Disability Allowance recipient, his/her allowance will be adjusted to Normal Disability Allowance if he/she has been admitted into residential institutions/public hospitals and institutions for receiving care or special school under the Education Bureau for boarding service for more than 29 days.


Please click here for the application procedures of Disability Allowance.

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 27 Sep 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

伤残津贴的申请资格是甚么?可领取的津贴金额为多少?

社会福利署

伤残津贴可分为普通伤残津贴及高额伤残津贴,是社会福利署(社署)为严重残疾的香港居民,每月提供的现金津贴,以应付因严重残疾而引致的特别需要。伤残津贴的申请人无须供款及接受经济狀况调查。由2019年2月1日起,普通伤残津贴的每月金额为$1,770,而高额伤残津贴的每月金额为$3,540。

伤残津贴的申请人必须:

  1. 符合下列居港规定:
    1. 已成为香港居民最少七年;及
    2. 在紧接申请日期前连续居港最少一年(在该年内如离港不超过56天,亦视为符合连续居港一年的规定)。

注:

  • 非法留港的人士,以及并非以定居原因获准在香港居留的人士(例如输入劳工和旅客),均不符合资格申请伤残津贴。
  • 18岁以下的香港居民可获豁免上述(a)项居港七年及(b)项连续居港一年的规定。
  • 在核实申请人是否符合上述(b)项连续居港一年的规定时,如申请人在该段时间内在香港以外的地方就学或从事有薪工作而又能提供文件予以证明,有关的离港日数可获考虑豁免计算。又如申请人因病需在香港以外地方就医而又能提供足够理由及文件证明其情况,社署署长可酌情考虑豁免计算有关的离港日数。
  1. 於领款期间,继续在香港居留( 请按此参阅有关离港宽限的资料);
  2. 没有领取公共福利金计划下的其他津贴或综合社会保障援助;
  3. 并非受合法羁留或在惩教院所服刑;及
  4. 符合下列个别津贴的条件:
    • 普通伤残津贴
    1. 经由卫生署署长或医院管理局行政总裁(或在极为特殊情况下由私家医院的注册医生)证明为严重残疾( 请按此参考严重残疾的定义);及
    2. 其严重残疾情况将持续不少於6个月。
    • 高额伤残津贴
    1. 除要符合上述普通伤残津贴的资格外,还须经由卫生署署长或医院管理局行政总裁(或在极为特殊情况下由私家医院的注册医生)证实在日常生活中需要他人不断照顾;及
    2. 并没有在受政府资助的院舍(包括津助/合约院舍及参与不同买位计划院舍的资助宿位)或医院管理局辖下所有的公立医院及机构接受住院照顾,或在教育局辖下的特殊学校寄宿。

注:高额伤残津贴申请人於申请津贴时,如正在上述院舍/医疗机构接受住院照顾或在教育局辖下的特殊学校寄宿,他/她只会获发普通伤残津贴。至於领取高额伤残津贴的受惠人,如他/她在院舍/医疗机构接受住院照顾或在特殊学校寄宿每次超过29天,其可获发的津贴将会调整至普通伤残津贴的金额。

请按此参阅伤残津贴的申请手续。

以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
最后更新日期2019年9月27日
电灯胆图像如想作进一步查询?
又或者Ask问问1823