Skip to main content

Holders of valid library cards issued by the Hong Kong Public Libraries, identity cards allowed for library purposes, or library cards/borrower's cards issued by the two former Municipal Council Public Libraries may borrow and return library materials at any public libraries in urban areas and the New Territories.  Each registered reader may borrow a maximum of eight items of library books/materials together with accompanying library materials, or a maximum of sixteen items of back issues of periodicals.

If you find a book or material in the library catalogue, but fail to find it on the shelf, you may consider using the reservation service. Each registered reader can reserve a maximum of eight materials and the fee is HK$ 3.3 for each item (or the prevailing valid reservation fee at the time of collection). Please note that no reservation can be made to any reference materials or audio-visual library materials.

Procedures to apply for reservation of library books/materials are as follows:

Reservation Procedures
  1. A reader can choose one of the following methods to reserve library books/materials and the pick-up location.  The reader should make sure that his/her registered postal/email address is correct before making reservation:
    • Fill in the form LCS 112 in any library or mobile library;
    • Use the Library Catalogue Terminal in the library;
    • Use 24-Hour reservation service via Internet at http://www.hkpl.gov.hk; ( Please click here for instructions)
    • Use the official mobile application (“My Library”) of Hong Kong Public Libraries. (Please click here for details.)

Please note that a confirmation statement will be shown on the screen if the hold request has been successfully placed. Reservation cannot be made if :

  • a reader has already reserved eight books/materials; or
  • the outstanding fines of the reader exceeds the limit (limit for adults: HK$130; limit for juniors: HK$25); or
  • the book/material requested is a reference material or an audio-visual library material.
  1. For any successful reservations made, the library will arrange to deliver the book/materials to the designated pick-up location as soon as possible. The duration depends on factors such as number of book copies, book status, transportation schedule among libraries etc. So it is not possible to confirm the exact time required.  If a reader wishes to inquire about his reservation waiting position, he/she can browse his/her “patron information” online or provide his personal data to the pick-up library for enquiry.
  2. When the reserved material is available for collection at the pick-up location, a notice will be issued to reader’s postal address or email address (separate registration is required for email notification, please click here for details). The reader should make sure the registered address (postal or email) is correct before making reservation. If there is any change in the postal address, please fill in the form at the library counter, inform by written notification or update the record via the Internet.  Regarding how to change the personal information, you may contact the library staff for details or refer to http://www.hkpl.gov.hk/e_update.  If you need to change the email address, you can update by using the Borrow Record Enquiry page in the Internet.
  3. The reader should bring with the library card to the library counter to borrow and pay the reservation fee on or before the date specified in the notice. He/she may also check the status of the reserved materials in the Library Catalogue Terminal or Internet. If the status of the reserved materials is changed to “reserved” (which means the materials have been deposited in the pick-up library), he/she may go to the pick-up library to pay the reservation fee and pick up the materials.
  4. Collection period is about 14 days from the date of notice issued by the system (may vary depending on circumstances e.g. mail delivery time).
     
Hold expiry date
  • Any reservation made will be valid for a default period of 270 days. The reservation will be automatically cancelled if the item reserved is not yet available by the hold expiry date.
  • The reader may change the hold expiry date to a date ranging from two weeks to two years from the date of reservation via Library Catalogue Terminal or Internet.
     
Reservation charge
  • Reservation fee of HK$3.3 will be charged for each book/material (or the prevailing valid reservation fee at the time of collection). It can be paid by Octopus Card or cash.
  • The reservation fee has to be paid once the reservation status is changed to "Transit Hold", no matter whether the reader has collected the reserved material or not.
Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 4 Sep 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

持有有效的香港公共图书馆图书证、图书馆适用身份证或两个前市政局公共图书馆借书证的市民,可以在全港任何一间公共图书馆借阅和归还图书馆书籍/资料。每位登记读者可外借最多8项书籍/资料及其附件,或最多 16 本逾期杂志。

如市民在图书馆的目录中找到所需的书籍或资料,但未能在图书馆架上找到,可考虑使用图书馆的预约服务。每位登记读者最多可预约 8 项资料,预约费用为每项资料港币 $3.3(或领取资料当日的有效预约费用为准)。注意预约服务不适用於参考资料或视听资料室资料。

申请预约图书馆书籍或资料的手续如下:

预约手续
  1. 读者可选择经以下其中一种方法,预约图书馆书籍/资料及选择取书地点。预约前请确保已登记的通讯地址/电邮资料正确:
    • 到任何一间公共图书馆或流动图书馆,填写表格 LCS 112;
    • 使用图书馆内图书馆目录终端机;
    • 24小时网上预约服务;网址 http://www.hkpl.gov.hk,使用方法 请按此
    • 使用香港公共图书馆官方流动应用程式「我的图书馆」,详情请按此

请留意屏幕显示,以确定已经成功预约资料。在下列情况下,预约服务不能进行:

  • 读者已预约 8 项书籍/资料;或
  • 图书证记录内积欠罚款已超越限额(成人限额:港币 $130,儿童限额:港币 $25);或
  • 预约资料属参考资料或视听资料室资料。
  1. 如成功预约,图书馆会安排尽快将预约书籍/资料送往指定取书地点。因所需时间受多个因素影响(例如:资料是否已被其他读者借出、资料在图书馆内存量、图书馆之间的运输安排等),所以不能提供确实取书日期。如读者欲查询自己的预约轮候位置,可上网查阅「读者记录」,或联络取书图书馆提供个人资料查询。
  2. 当预约书籍/资料到达取书地点后,图书馆将邮寄通知书,或以电邮形式(需另外登记,详情 请按此)通知读者。请确保已登记的通讯地址/电邮资料正确。如要更改地址,请到图书馆柜台填交表格,或书面通知,或网上更改纪录。有关更改个人资料的方法,详情请向图书馆职员查询或登入网址: http://www.hkpl.gov.hk/c_update。如要更改电邮,读者可透过网上的读者纪录查询服务网页更新资料。
  3. 读者可在通知书列明日期前,带同预约该资料的图书证到图书馆柜台办理借书手续及缴付预约费用。读者亦可透过图书馆目录终端机或互联网检视预约情况,如预约资料的状况是「预约架上」(表示资料已存放於取书图书馆)读者可自行决定前往取书图书馆办理借书手续及缴付预约费用而无须携带通知书。
  4. 领取期限大约为 14日(由系统发出日计起,需视乎实际情况,例如邮递时间)。
     
预约有效期限
  • 预约服务的预设有效限期为 270 日,如图书馆在有效限期内仍未能提供所预约的书籍/资料,这预约即自动取消。
  • 读者可在图书馆利用图书馆目录终端机,或经互联网更改预约有效限期;可由 2 星期至最长 2 年。
     
预约费用
  • 预约书籍/资料费用为每项港币 $3.3(或领取资料当日的有效预约费用为准);读者可以八达通或现金缴付费用。
  • 当预约资料的状况一旦转为「转移预约」(表示资料已准备运往取书图书馆),无论读者是否到取成功预约的图书馆资料,都必须缴付预约费用。
最后更新日期2019年9月4日
如想作进一步查询?