Skip to main content

According to the Dutiable Commodities (Amendment) Ordinance 2018 (Cap. 109), sale and supply of intoxicating liquor to persons under the age of 18 in the course of business is prohibited. What is the definition of “intoxicating liquor”? What is the scope of the law?

Tobacco and Alcohol Control Office, Department of Health

Intoxicating liquor covers any liquid that contains more than 1.2% ethyl alcohol by volume and is fit for or intended as a beverage. Any drink items that fall under this definition (e.g. cooking rice wine, sherry) will be considered as intoxicating liquor and will be regulated under the new legislation. On the other hand, foods which contain alcohol e.g. alcoholic chocolate/ liqueur chocolate (酒心朱古力), chicken cooked in wine (醉雞) would be exempted under the new regulatory regime.

The law covers the sale or supply of intoxicating liquor in the course of business, regardless of whether payment is involved. The law’s scope covers not only traditional retail outlets such as liquor stores, supermarkets, and convenience stores, and remote distribution such as internet orders, but also supply in the course of business. Examples of supply are free alcohol samples provided to minors in marketing and advertising events, and free gifts of alcohol accompanying other products etc.

The law does not apply to family gatherings or social events with no intention for business.

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 2 Sep 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要內容

根據香港法例第109章《2018 年應課稅品(修訂)條例》的規定,任何人在業務過程中,均不得向18歲以下人士售賣和供應令人醺醉的酒類。「令人醺醉的酒類」的定義是甚麼? 法例適用於甚麼場合?

衞生署控煙酒辦公室

令人醺醉的酒類涵蓋以量計含多於1.2% 乙醇並適合或擬作為飲品飲用的酒類。任何符合此定義的飲品 (例如: 米酒、些厘酒)均會視作令人醺醉的酒類並受法例規管;而以酒類烹調的食品(例如: 酒心朱古力、醉雞)則豁免於法例的規管範疇。

有關法例涵蓋在業務過程中所有售賣和供應令人醺醉的酒類的行為,無論當中有否涉及付款。這包括傳統零售店(例如: 酒品店、超級市場、便利店)和遙距分發方式(例如: 銷售機和互聯網訂單),及於市場推廣和宣傳活動中免費向未成年人派發酒辦,以及銷售其他產品時附送酒類飲品等。

法例並不適用於沒有商業意圖的家庭聚會或社交活動。

最後更新日期2019年9月2日
如想作進一步查詢?