Skip to main content

An expired vehicle licence ca n be renewed in the same way as a valid licence, except that an additional fee will apply to the unlicensed period.  Please note that when a vehicle licence has expired for a period of more than 2 years, the vehicle registration will be cancelled. The registered owner has to apply for vehicle registration again in order to obtain a vehicle licence. 
 

Calculation of additional fee for the unlicensed period
If a vehicle has been used on the road during the unlicensed period (e.g. driving with the vehicle or parking at a roadside metered parking space), the registered vehicle owner has to pay an additional fee incurred from the usage of the vehicle during the unlicensed period. The payable fee can be calculated in the following way:
(Annual licence fee –Traffic Accident Victims Assistant Fund Levy $ 114) x 0.33% x no. of days involved in the unlicensed period **
**
excluding the last expiry date and the effective date of the renewed licence. 
 

Application for Waiving Additional Fees for the Unlicensed Period

A registered vehicle owner who has not used the vehicle on a road during the unlicensed period can apply for waiving theadditional fee.
The vehicle owner shall com plete " Declaration on Application for Waiving Additional Fees Incurred from Usage of Vehicle During the Unlicensed Period" on Pag e 2 of the renewal application form TD558 (PDF)and indicate the period during which the vehicle has been put off the road. If the renewal application is submitted by mail, the postmark date will be regarded as the last day of the vehicle having been put off the road. There may be a short time gap between the date that the Transport Department receives the application and the postmark date, and an additional fee will be charged for that short period. Therefore, applicants are advised to submit their applications in person/by agent.
 

The effective date of vehicle licence renewed after expiry
The renewed licence will be effective from the date of renewal, no matter an additional fee for the unlicensed period is incurred or not. For example, if the expiry date of the current vehicle licence is 1/ 11/ 2009 and the registered owner renews it in person at the Licensing Office on 30/ 11/ 2009, the renewed licence will be effective from the date of renewal (i.e. 30/ 11/ 2009) irrespective of whether an additional fee is imposed.
 

To learn more about the renewal procedures, please click here.

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 3 Oct 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

当行车证的有效期届满后才申请续领,便属於逾期续牌 。续牌手续不变,但是车主除了要缴交标准牌费外,可能须缴付逾期续牌附加费 (俗称逾期牌费)。车主要注意,如行车证届满2年或以上,车辆会被取消登记。车主要重新办理登记手续,才可申请行车证。
 

计算逾期牌费

在行车证有效期届满后,有关 车辆仍然有在道路上使用 (例如车辆停泊在咪表位,或在道路上行驶),车主在续领行车证时须缴交逾期牌费,计算方式如下:

 (1年牌费 — 伤亡援助金114元) X 0.33% X 行车证过期日数 **

行车证过期日数 ** = 原有牌照期满翌日至新牌照生效前一日的日数
 

申请豁免缴交逾期牌费

如果有关车辆在行车证有效期 届满后没有在道路上使用,车主可申请豁免逾期牌费

车主须在申请续领行车证表格 TD558 (PDF)  的第2页内 「申请豁免车辆牌照过期后使用车辆附加费声明」填写声明,列明无使用车辆的整段期间。如以邮寄方式提交申请,无使用车辆期间的结束日会以邮局收件日期 (邮戳) 计算。由於运输署收到申请的日期可能会迟过邮戳日期,而期间的日子部门仍然会向车主收取 逾期牌费,因此建议申请人亲身前往牌照办事处办理逾期续牌的申请。
 

逾期续牌后的新行车证有效期

无论是否缴交逾期续牌附加费,新行车证的生效日期是牌照发出当日。

(例子: 旧行车证有效期至1/ 11/ 2009, 车主在30/ 11/ 2009才亲自往牌照办事处办理续牌,无论是否须要缴交逾期续牌附加费,新行车证的生效期是由发出新行车证当日开始,即30/ 11/ 2009生效。)
 

续牌手续的详情,请按此

以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
更多相关关键字:
最后更新日期2019年10月3日
电灯胆图像如想作进一步查询?
又或者Ask问问1823