Skip to main content

Members of the public may, subject to the approval of the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department (FEHD), scatter cremated human ashes in 3 designated areas of Hong Kong waters, including east of Tap Mun, east of Tung Lung Chau and south of West Lamma Channel (for the boundaries of the 3 designated areas for scattering cremains at sea, please click here). If the application is approved, the scattering of cremated human ashes shall only take place at the approved time, on the approved date and within the approved Designated Area. No food, ritual offerings or any other object shall be thrown into the sea except the cremated ashes of the deceased and a handful (the amount of flower petals that a 250ml container can contain, about the capacity of a rice bowl) of natural flower petals as approved.

Free Ferry Service for Scattering Cremains
In order to promote the scattering of cremated human ashes at sea, FEHD provide four times of free ferry service per month, departing from North Point (East) Passenger Ferry Pier on the designated mornings of each month to south of the West Lamma Channel or the east of Tung Lung Chau for the public to scatter ashes. Every ferry trip can accommodate 25 applicants who may each bring along ten family members, relatives and friends on board.

Application procedures

Application period 

The application should be submitted to FEHD at least 10 days before the proposed date for the scattering of cremated ashes.
 

Applicant

The applicant must be the same person as the one who collected the cremated ashes as mentioned in the “Permit to take away cremated ashes”.  The applicant can authorise a person to act on his or her behalf in written format. The authorised person should provide the authorization letter when making the application.
 

Form

Fill in one of the following forms as appropriate:

  1. If the applicant wants to make use of the free ferry service provided by FEHD, please fill in Application For Scattering Of Cremated Human Ashes in Hong Kong Waters and Free Ferry Service to Designated Area (East of Tung Lung Chau or South of West Lamma Channel) (FEHB198A)
  2. if there is no need to make use of the free ferry service provided by FEHD, please fill in   Application for Scattering of Cremated Human Ashes in Hong Kong Waters (FEHB198) 
     
Documents required
  1. The original of the "Permit to take away cremated ashes" ; and
  2. if the application is made by an authorised person, copy of the HKID card of the applicant and the authorised person should be submitted.
     
Submission method

The applicant or the authorised person should submit the application to any one of the following offices of the Cemeteries and Crematoria Section, FEHD.
 

Processing time

FEHD will approve the application within 5 working days from the date of receipt of an application.

Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
Last update: 4 Sep 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要內容

市民可以向食物環境衞生署(食環署)申請把先人的骨灰撒在香港水域內3個指定的範圍,包括塔門以東、東龍洲以東及西博寮海峽以南(有關上述3個指定海葬的水域範圍, 請按此)。如申請獲得批准,必須在食環署指定的時間、日期和地點將先人骨灰撒海。除了撒先人的骨灰外,出席儀式人士可將少量花瓣(即以250毫升容量的器皿可盛載的花瓣份量,約一家用飯碗容量)撒到海中。食物、祭品或其他物品均不可以撒落大海。

骨灰撒海免費渡輪服務
食環署為推廣海葬,每個月提供4班免費渡輪服務,由北角東渡輪碼頭出發到西博寮海峽以南或東龍洲以東海域,讓巿民在該處進行撒灰儀式。渡輪服務於指定日期上午9時出發,每次可接載25位申請人,而每位申請人可帶同10名親友出席儀式。申請人可選擇由遞交申請表當日起計10星期內的任何一次指定渡輪服務。

申請手續

申請時限
必須在撒灰日期前最少10日向食環署提出申請。
 
申請人
申請人必須跟「領取骨灰許可證」內提及的領取骨灰人士為同一人。申請人可以書面授權他人代辦申請手續,獲授權人士在辦理申請時要出示授權書。
 
表格

視乎情況填寫下列表格:

  1. 如申請人要用食環署提供的免費渡輪服務,填寫 申請在香港海域內將先人骨灰撒海及免費渡輪服務前往指定海域(東龍洲以東或西博寮海峽以南) (FEHB198A)
  2. 不用食環署提供的免費渡輪服務,填寫 申請在香港海域內將先人骨灰撒海 (FEHB198)
     
所需文件
  1. 「領取骨灰許可證」(即骨灰紙) 正本;及
  2. 如由獲授權人士辦理申請,須提交申請人及獲授權人士的身份證副本。
     
遞交方式
請申請人/獲授權人士到任何一間「 墳場及火葬場辦事處」辦理申請。
 
處理申請的時間
食環署會在收到申請起計5個工作日內批核。
最後更新日期2019年9月4日
電燈膽圖像如想作進一步查詢?