Skip to main content

Eligibility for Application

  1. A full driving licence holder should renew his/her licence within 4 months before the expiry date of the current licence, or within 3 years after the licence has been expired.  Should a driving licence holder fail to renew his/her full driving licence within 3 years after the expiry date, he/she will need to take driving test again and to complete the probationary driving period before obtaining a full driving licence for private car, light goods vehicle, motor cycle or motor tricycle.  Furthermore, the licence holder will only be eligible for applying for commercial driving licence 2 years after obtaining his/her full driving licence of private car or light goods vehicle.

  2. If you have court fines to pay, you must settle the outstanding court fines before renewing your driving licence. Please click here, if you need to pay court fines, or have settled the court fines by cheque within the last 7 working days from today.  If you are uncertain whether you need to pay any court fine, please call the enquiry hotline of Transport Department at 2804 2600 (This hotline is handled by 1823).
     

 Application Procedures

Form

Depending on your age, fill out the appropriate form(s):

  1. Application for new issue, renewal and addition full driving licence & driving instructor's licence - TD557 (PDF, you may also fill in this form online and print a filled version for submission)
  2. If an applicant aged 70 or above, should additionally submit Medical examination for an applicant of 70 years of age or more for a full or learner driving licence - TD256 (PDF)
Means of Submission
  1. In person to any Licensing Office. If handled by an agent, the agent should bring his/her identity document in original for record purposes. Appointment booking service is available for full driving licence renewal on phone (Tel: 3763 8080) and the Internet. The appointment can be made 2 weeks in advance [Note: If a driving licence holder being a non-permanent Hong Kong resident is approved to drive commercial vehicle (i.e. vehicles other than private car/light goods vehicle/motor cycle/motor tricycle) , he/she must submit the application in person or by agent to the licensing office];
  2. By mail to P.O. Box 68115, Kowloon East Post Office, Kowloon (You are strongly advised to send by registered mail to avoid loss of documents);
  3. By drop-in box at any Licensing Office or designated post offices in 18 districts (PDF) (no stamp is required); or
  4. Apply online; scanner and e-Cert are required for online application. Alternatively, licence holders can also use the 8-digit Renewal Password printed on the TD578 or TD601, together with the number of their identity document registered with Transport Department, to authenticate their identity.  If you have not received the renewal password before or have lost it, you may obtain a new password by submitting an application (PDF) to the Transport Department.
Supporting Documents

Depending on the situation, you must submit the following supporting documents:

  1. Document of identity
    1. HK Identity Card/Passport (Original/Copy); and
    2. If a driving licence holder being a non-permanent Hong Kong resident is approved to drive commercial vehicle, he/she must produce his/her Passport (Original and Copy) to show that the applicant is not subject to any condition of stay as defined by the Immigration Department.
  2. Address Proof (Original/Copy); and
  3. If an applicant aged 70 or above, submits a medical examination report form TD256 completed by a registered medical practitioner within the last 4 months before the submission of renewal application.
Validity & Fee

Validity period & fee of driving licence

Effective Date of Renewed Licence

Depending on the time of submission:

  1. between 4 months prior to and 15 days after the expiry date of current licence, the effective date of renewed licence will be the day immediately after the current expiry date (e.g. If the current licence expires on 29/4, the renewed licence will be effective starting from 30/4.).

  2. 15 days after the current expiry date and onwards, the issue date of renewed licence is the effective date.

Payment Method
  1. Cash;

  2. EPS; or

  3. Crossed cheque payable to “The Government of the HKSAR”.

For application by post / drop-in box, the payment of fee should be settled by crossed cheque.

Processing Time

Depending on submission method:

  1. In person to Licensing Office: To be issued on the same day
  2. Others: To be sent to applicants by registered mail within 10 working days from the date of receipt of application.
Do you find this information useful?
Is the information sufficient?
Is it easy to get the information you want?
Other comments:
More related keywords:
Last update: 25 Oct 2019
Light bulb iconWant to learn more?

跳到主要内容

申请资格

  1. 正式驾驶执照持有人必须在有效期届满前 4 个月至届满后 3 年内续领执照。如驾驶执照持有人未能於正式驾驶执照届满日期后三年内提出续领申请,他必须重新参加驾驶考试及完成暂准驾驶期,方可再次申领私家车/轻型货车/电单车/机动三轮车的正式驾驶执照。此外,他亦须待重新取得私家车或轻型货车正式驾驶执照两年后,方可再次提出申请商用车辆驾驶执照。

  2. 如被法庭命令缴交罚款,须先付清罚款,才可申请续牌。仍未缴清法庭命令罚款的人士,或曾在最近的7个工作日内(不包括今日)用支票缴交罚款的人士,请按此。如果不知道自己是否须要缴交法庭命令的罚款。请你致电运输署查询电话 2804 2600(此电话由 1823 接听)。
     

申请手续 

表格

视乎申请人年龄填写下列表格:

  1. 正式驾驶执照及驾驶教师执照新领/续领及加领申请表格 TD557(PDF, 你亦可於网上填写本申请表,并将申请表列印后递交。)
  2. 70岁或以上人士,需填交 70 岁或以上人士申请正式或学习驾驶执照所须进行之体格检验报告 TD256(PDF)
递交方式
  1. 到任何一间 运输署牌照事务处办理。由代办人办理,代办人须带备自己的身分证明文件正本,以作记录。运输署提供电话预约(3763 8080),及 网上预约服务,预约期最长为 2 星期〔 注意:非香港永久居民持有授权驾驶商用车辆的驾驶执照(即是私家车/轻型货车/电单车/机动三轮车以外的车辆),必须亲身,或由代办人到 运输署牌照事务处办理申请。〕;
  2. 邮寄至东九龙邮政信箱 68115 号(部门鼓励申请人寄挂号,以免遗失重要文件);
  3. 投入任何一间 运输署牌照事务处之投递箱,或全港 18 区指定邮政局内特设之投递箱 (毋须贴上邮票);或
  4. 网上申请,须持有数码证书及扫瞄器。除了使用数码证书外,执照持有人亦可使用列印在TD578及TD601表格上的「续领密码」,以及其在运输署记录的身分证明文件号码,来作身分核实。如你之前未曾收到续领密码,又或已遗失密码,你可向运输署申请 (PDF)重新发出该密码 。
所需文件

视乎情况须递交下列文件:

  1. 身份证明文件:

  • 香港身份证/护照(正本/副本);及
  • 如申请人不是香港永久居民,持有授权驾驶商用车辆的驾驶执照,必须递交护照(正本/副本)以显示入境事务处列明申请人不受逗留条件所规限的盖章;
  1. 地址证明(正本/副本);及
  2. 年满 70 岁或以上的申请人,须递交由医生填妥的体格检验报告 TD256。报告必须於递交申请当日前 4 个月内签发。
有效期及费用

驾驶执照有效期限及费用表

新驾驶执照的生效日期

视乎递交申请的时间:

  1. 在执照届满日期前 4 个月,至届满日期后的 15 日内递交申请,新执照生效日期是旧驾驶执照到期日的翌日(例:如旧牌於 29/4 到期,新牌的有效日是 30/4)。
  2. 在执照届满的 15 日后递交申请,新执照生效日期是发出当日即时生效。
付款方式
  1. 现金;
  2. 易办事(EPS);或
  3. 划线支票,抬头:「香港特别行政区政府」/「The Government of the HKSAR」。

如以邮寄方式或经投递箱递交申请,请以划线支票支付申请费用。

何时会收到新执照

视乎递交方式:

  1. 到运输署牌照事务处办理:即日发出;或
  2. 其他方式:由运输署接到申请当日起计的10个工作天内,以挂号信寄给申请人。
以上资讯对你有用吗?
以上资讯的内容是否足够?
是否容易获得你需要的资讯?
其他意见:
更多相关关键字:
最后更新日期2019年10月25日
电灯胆图像如想作进一步查询?
又或者Ask问问1823